Derry have won the Ulster Minor Football Championship.

This afternoon they beat Cavan on a final scoreline of 1-22 to 2-12 in Clones.

Derry began with a flurry of scores with Lorcan McWilliams (2), Conleth McShane and an Oisin McWilliams free before James Smith opened Cavan’s account with a goal.

By the 15 minute mark, Derry led 0-10 to 1-2 and at the break the Oak Leaf county were in front by four points, 0-14 to 1-7.

But on 41 minutes Cavan pulled a goal back through Philip Rogers and they only trailed by two 0-17 to 2-9 and it was game on.

Ben McCarron made it 1-20 to 2-10 on 52 minutes.

With five minutes left Derry led 1-20 to 2-12 and they held on for a famous victory with seven points being the winning margin with a final score of 1-22 to 2-12.

It was a repeat pairing of 2015 when Derry last won the title.

Donegal were the holders, but went out this year in the quarter-finals when they lost to an Antrim side that were then beaten by Derry in the semi-final.

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Donegal Now editorial team. Between 9am and 5pm Monday to Sunday please call 074 9112712. Between 5pm and midnight please call or text 086 792 2103. Or you can email [email protected] at any time.