Donegal and Kerry met in an absorbing All Ireland Senior Football Championship Super 8s clash at Croke Park today.

If finished: Donegal  1-20, Kerry 1-20

A free five minutes into injury time from captain Michael Murphy enabled Donegal to get a draw at the end of a titanic struggle against Kerry.

This was a real ding-dong battle with nothing between the sides throughout the game.

And when Kerry went ahead deep into stoppage time Donegal feared the worst, but Kerry conceded a free and Murphy obliged.

In the end it was a fair result between two of the heavy-weights.

Donegal showed three changes from the matchday programme with Eamonn Doherty coming in for Neil McGee, Caolan Ward in for Daire O'Baoill and Eoin McHugh starting rather than Paul Brennan.

Kerry also had three changes. Shane Enright was named in centre-field instead of David Moran with David O'Connor beside him rather than Jack Sherwood while Kieran Spillane was in the half-forward line for Graham O'Sullivan.

It was close in the early stages with Kerry leading 0-4 to 0-3 after 15 minutes.

Kerry led 0-6 to 0-5 when Jason McGee had to go off injured, being replaced by Daire O'Baoill.

Moments later captain Michael Murphy got his second point of the day with a super effort to bring the sides level for the fourth time.

There was little between the sides.

Kerry's Gavin White was given a black card (he was replaced by Jonathan Lyne) shortly before half-time as did Niall O'Donnell (who was replaced by MacCumhaill's Oisin Gallen).

A point inside stoppage time from Sean O'Shea enabled Kerry to lead by a single point at the break, 0-10 to 0-9.


Michael Langan and David Clifford traded points at the start of the second half before Murphy scored with a 50 metre free to bring the sides level at 11 points each.

Donegal then took off the injured Hugh McFadden (leaving them without either of the players who started in centre-field) with veteran Frank McGlynn coming on.

Another Murphy free put Donegal into the lead seven minutes into the second half but Paul Geaney then burst through the Donegal defence to blast the ball past Shaun Patton to make it 1-11 to 0-12 in favour of the Kingdom.

The game started to really open up with Oisin Gallen and Patrick McBreaty scoring for Donegal while in between Tom O'Sullivan scored for the Munster champions while Cillian Spillane was also on target.

On 50 minutes Daire O'Baoill was taken out by Stephen O'Brien and Donegal were awarded a penalty.

Murphy scored to put Donegal ahead by 1-14 to 1-13.

Moments later Eoin McHugh thought he had got a second for Donegal but it was disallowed.

At times, Kerry were guilty of not making the most of good scoring opportunities but David Clifford found Sean O'Shea to bring the sides level at 1-14 apiece with 58 minutes on the clock.

Man-of-the-match Ryan McHugh then showed some silky skills to set up Murphy to put Donegal in front before Killian Spillane equalised.

McBreaty put over a free to put Donegal back in front but almost immediately Stephen O'Brien got a point from play at the other end and Clifford then put Kerry into the lead before Langan pointed to make them level for the 12th time at 1-17 to 1-17.

Jason Foley fisted the ball over to enable Kerry to take the lead with 69 minutes gone.

Gallen then equalised and Murphy pointed as Donegal came from behind to take the lead a minute and a half into injury time, to make it 1-19 to 1-18.

But play swept up to the other end and Geaney rattled one over to bring the sides level yet again.

After a fine build up Paul Murphy then pointed to give Kerry the lead with almost 74 minutes on the clock.

Kerry substitute Tomas O'Sé  was then sent off as the drama continued.

But Donegal grabbed the equaliser with a last gasp free from Murphy to make it 1-20 each.

And ultimately, it was a fair result.

Donegal conclude their Super 8s series away to Mayo while Kerry travel to Navan to take on Meath.

If Mayo beat Donegal, they will go through at the expense of Donegal.

In the first game of the double-header earlier Mayo defeated Meath by 2-17 to 0-14.

Donegal: Shaun Patton; Odhran McFadden-Ferry; Eamonn Doherty, Stephen McMenamin; Ryan McHugh, Caolan Ward, Eoin McHugh; Hugh McFadden, Jason McGee; Ciaran Thompson, Niall O'Donnell, Jamie Brennan; Patrick McBrearty, Michael Murphy; Michael Langan.

Kerry: Shane Ryan; Jason Foley, Tadhg Morley, Tom O'Sullivan; Paul Murphy, Gavin Crowley, Gavin White; Shane Enright, Diarmuid O'Connor; Adrian Spillane, Sean O'Shea, Killian Spillane; David Clifford, Paul Geaney, Stephen O'Brien.

Attendance: 48,723.

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Donegal Now editorial team. Between 9am and 5pm Monday to Sunday please call 074 9112712. Between 5pm and midnight please call or text 086 792 2103. Or you can email [email protected] at any time.