There will be a total of 30 candidates contesting the twelve seats up for grabs in the Donegal and Glenties Electoral Areas election in just 14 days time.

A total of 16 candidates have been confirmed for the Donegal Electoral Area and interestingly enough half of them independents - the second highest number (eight) going anywhere in the county.

The candidates are: John Boyle, Dunkineely; John McNulty, Kilcar and Barry O’Neill Ballyshannon (Fine Gael); Sean McEniff, Bundoran, Brendan Byrne, Carrick and Micheal Naughton, Laghey (Fianna Fail); Michael McMahon, Bundoran and Noel Jordan, Mountcharles (Sinn Fein) and independents John Campbell, Mountcharles; Lawrence McManus, Pettigo; Tom Conaghan, Donegal Town; Niamh Kennedy, Killybegs; Joseph McNulty, Bundoran; Patricia McCafferty, Bundoran; Jonathan Kennedy, Donegal Town and Bernie Mulhern, Donegal Town.

The line-up for the Glenties Electoral Area is dominated by no fewer than four Fianna Fail candidates, matched only by the number of independents.

The candidates here are: Seamus Ó Domhnaill, Falcarragh; Hughie Mac Giolla Bhride, Derrybeg; Ian Molloy, Glenties and Enda Bonner, Dungloe (Fianna Fail); John Currsan, Falcarragh and Terence Slowey, Ardara (Fine Gael); Maire Therese Gallagher, Dungloe and John Shéamuis Ó Fearraigh, Bunaleaca (Sinn Fein); Joe McCarron, Dungloe, (Direct Democracy Ireland); Seamus Rodgers, Annagry (Labour) and independents Michael McClafferty, Falcarragh; Padraig O’Dochartaigh, Derrybeg; Brian Carr, Glenties and Micheal Cholm Mac Giolla Easbuig, Annagry.

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Donegal Now editorial team. Between 9am and 5pm Monday to Sunday please call 074 9112712. Between 5pm and midnight please call or text 086 792 2103. Or you can email [email protected] at any time.