The majority of transfers from eliminated candidate Cyril Brennan (SOL-PBB) went to candidates in the Ballyshannon and Bundoran areas.

The fourth count declared at 6.50pm saw Barry Sweeny (FG) gain 64 votes, taking him up to 1,215; well on target for the fourth seat. He sits behind Micheal Naughton (FF) on 1,224; Noel Jordan (SF) of 1,573 and Niamh Kennedy (Ind) on 1,585.

Billy Grimes (Ind) from Ballyshannon also received a much needed boost. 56 transfers took him up to 951. Bundoran's Michael McMahon (SF) remains in the running, with 49 transfers taking him to 973 votes.

Other candidates who are also very much in contention are Tom Conaghan (Ind) on 993; Seamus Maguire (Ind) on 907 and John McNulty (FG) on 980. However, John McNulty is not doing well on transfers, having gained only two votes since the first count.


No candidate has as yet reached the quota so there is no surplus to distribute as yet. Returning officer Pauric Sheerin declared that Sean O'Beirne (Ind) has therefore been eliminated. His 331 votes are being distributed.

Photo by Siobhán McGowan

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Donegal Now editorial team. Between 9am and 5pm Monday to Sunday please call 074 9112712. Between 5pm and midnight please call or text 086 792 2103. Or you can email [email protected] at any time.