With only 138 votes to be distributed from the first eliminated candidate, the second count in the Donegal EA was declared at 5.50 pm.

Noel Jordan (SF) is now topping the poll on 1,550 votes, just ahead of Niamh Kennedy (Ind) on 1,544. Micheal Naughton (FF) gained another 13 votes and is in third place on 1205 ahead of Barry Sweeny (FG) on 1,126.

It was Donegal Town's Tom Conaghan (Ind) who gained the most from eliminated candidate Justin Coughlin. 35 transfers brought him up to 979, just one vote ahead of John McNulty (FG) on 978.


The next lowest candidate Valerie McNulty (Ind) was then eliminated. Her 196 votes (including two transfers) are now being distributed.

The count continues in the St John Bosco Centre, Donegal Town.

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Donegal Now editorial team. Between 9am and 5pm Monday to Sunday please call 074 9112712. Between 5pm and midnight please call or text 086 792 2103. Or you can email [email protected] at any time.