Eighth count transfer of 256 votes from eliminated candidate Philip McGlynn (FF) saw fellow Bundoran man Michael McMahon (SF) climb into third place.

McMahon now sits behind his Sinn Féin running mate Noel Jordan who is on 1,693 and Niamh Kennedy (Ind) who leads on 1,759.

Micheal Naughton (FF) however is not too far behind on 1,413 with Barry Sweeny (FG) still showing strongly on 1,353.

John McNulty (FG) is still in the running on 1,153.

Independents Billy Grimes and Tom Conaghan are on 1,043 and 1,028.


And again, no candidate reached the quota. This means that Eimear McGuinness (FF) has been eliminated and her 631 votes are being distributed. This could potentially see her fellow Killybegs candidate Niamh Kennedy elected. But at least it will leave her on the verge of taking the first seat on the Municipal District of Donegal.

The count continues at the St John Bosco Centre in Donegal. A buzz of expectation is finally being felt after a long day of counting. It now looks increasingly likely that a candidate will be elected on the ninth or tenth count.

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Donegal Now editorial team. Between 9am and 5pm Monday to Sunday please call 074 9112712. Between 5pm and midnight please call or text 086 792 2103. Or you can email [email protected] at any time.