Mayor of Donegal Town Pauric Kennedy's local election bid came to an end when he was eliminated on the ninth count in the Donegal EA.

Returning Officer announced the elimination after the count when no candidate reached the quota of 2,043.

Transfer of Fianna Fail candidate Eimear McGuinness's votes after the eighth count was not quite enough to see fellow Killybegs woman Niamh Kennedy (Ind) over the line. But with only 105 votes now needed by Kennedy it really is only a matter of time.

Noel Jordan (SF) remains next in line to reach the quota. He is sitting on 1,731 votes and could do very well from eliminated candidate Pauric Kennedy's transfers.

Micheal Naughton (FF) took 123 of McGuinness's transfers, helping him to regain third place. He is ahead of Michael McMahon (SF) on 1,462; Barry Sweeny (FG) on 1,360; John McNulty (FG) on 1,199; Tom Conaghan (Ind) 1,058; Billy Grimes (Ind) 1,050; John Boyle (FG) 970; and Seamus Maguire (961).

No seat filled

Remarkably, 13 hours after the count started this morning, there is still not one seat filled. Those gathered in the St John Bosco Centre in Donegal Town are hopeful that the next count will see a candidate take a seat.

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Donegal Now editorial team. Between 9am and 5pm Monday to Sunday please call 074 9112712. Between 5pm and midnight please call or text 086 792 2103. Or you can email [email protected] at any time.