Joe McHugh, Minister of State for Gaeltacht Affairs, has announced that three towns across Donegal will be playing a major role in the promotion of Gaeltacht areas in Donegal.

Letterkenny, Donegal Town, and Dungloe have all been named as 'Gaeltacht Service Areas' for the county under the Gaeltacht Act 2012.

Essentially, according to Minister McHugh, these towns will now act as 'gateways' to Gaeltacht areas by providing information about them to tourists passing through, while they will also be helping to promote Irish as a language.


If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Donegal Now editorial team. Between 9am and 5pm Monday to Sunday please call 074 9112712. Between 5pm and midnight please call or text 086 792 2103. Or you can email [email protected] at any time.