Glenties Municipal District of Donegal County Council will be another fascinating local contest with 13 candidates going for the six council seats up for grabs.

The outgoing candidates include Enda Bonner (FF) Cllr Marie Therese Gallagher (SF), currently the only female councillor in the Glenties Municipal District, Michéal Cholm Mac Giolla Easbuig (Ind), Seamus O'Domhnaill (FF) and  John Sheamuis O'Fearraigh (SF).

Just two independents candidates are seeking election in the Glenties area, compared to nine in Donegal.

Five of the six councillors, who were elected last time out will again be putting forward their names on the ballot sheet, with the exception of Fine Gael's Terence Slowey, who is retiring from the role.

Brian Carr who ran as an Independent last time out, is hoping to gain a second council seat this time as a member of Sinn Féin, but he will be also running against fellow party candidates SF Cllr Marie Therese Gallagher and Cllr John Sheamuis Ó Fearraigh. 

Cllr Gallagher is one of  just three female politicians, across the entire county, sitting on this last Donegal County Council.

There was some surprise when another sitting councillor Enda Bonner lost out at the Fianna Fáil convention to Noreen McGarvey and Anthony Molloy, but he was later added to the ticket by his party's headquarters.

Cllr Seamus O'Domhnaill, who topped the poll in Glenties last time out in 2014, will be assisted no doubt, by his high public profile over the last twelve months as Cathaoirleach of Donegal County Council.

In terms of profile, his party running mate, Anthony Molloy is probably one of the most well-known and recognised faces in the county. He captained the Donegal senior team that won the first All Ireland senior football championship in 1992 against Dublin.

Another perennial that pops up is Seamus Rogers of the Labour party, who must be credited with being the candidate who has just about contested more elections than anybody else in the county.

Seamus remains the Labour party link with south and south west Donegal.

Fine Gael are running two candidates Michael McClafferty and Evelyn Sweeney, both hoping to capitalise on the Fine Gael vote previously held by Cllr Slowey.

Cllr Micheál Cholm MacGiolla Easbuig the only Independent councillor sitting in the Glenties District at present is again hoping to get re-elected. The use of the Irish language in the chamber was one of a number of matters that saw him make the headlines over the council's last term.

Another Independent, Liam Whyte is on the ballot sheet for the first time and will be hoping to capitalise on electorate frustrations with the larger political parties.

Aontú are participating in their first election in the guise of Liam Mulligan, in what should be an exciting count in the Highland Hotel, Glenties over the weekend.

Voting in the local, European and Divorce amendment referendum will take place this Friday from 7am to 10pm.

The candidates are:

Enda Bonner (Fianna Fáil) - Outgoing

Brian Carr (Sinn Féin)

Marie Therese Gallagher (Sinn Féin) - Outgoing

Micheál Cholm Mac Giolla Easbuig (Independent) - Outgoing

Michael McClafferty (Fine Gael)

Noreen McGarvey (Fianna Fáil)

Anthony Molloy (Fianna Fáil)

Liam Mulligan (Aontú)

Seamus O’Domhnaill (Fianna Fáil) - Outgoing

John Sheamuis Ó Fearraigh (Sinn Féin) – Outgoing

Seamus Rodgers (Labour Party)

Evelyn Sweeney (Fine Gael)

Liam Whyte (Independent)

Page 1 of 1

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Donegal Now editorial team. Between 9am and 5pm Monday to Sunday please call 074 9112712. Between 5pm and midnight please call or text 086 792 2103. Or you can email [email protected] at any time.