Independent Cllr. Michael McBride has been elected in the Letterkenny Electoral Area on the eight count.

The out-going councillor made the decision to contest the Letterkenny Electoral Area rather than the Milford Electoral Area - and his gamble paid off.

Eighth Count

Distribution of Kavanagh’s surplus.

Kevin Bradley (Independent) +53, 1347

Donal Coyle (Fianna Fáil) +41, 1389

Adrian Glackin (Sinn Féin) +12, 969

Manus Mandy Kelly (Fianna Fáil) +47, 1171

Michael McBride (Independent) +34, 1464

Gerry McMonagle (Sinn Féin), +8, 1003

Mary T Sweeney (Aontu) +16, 1057

NT: 26

Elected: McBride. Eliminated: Glackin.

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Donegal Now editorial team. Between 9am and 5pm Monday to Sunday please call 074 9112712. Between 5pm and midnight please call or text 086 792 2103. Or you can email [email protected] at any time.