The six out-going councillors in the Lifford-Stranorlar Electoral Area are all widely expected to retain their seats when the official count takes place tomorrow.

The tally figures today show that Martin Harley (FG)  is set to top the poll with over 1,600 votes.

Patrick McGowan (FF) is on 1,542 while his party colleague and outgoing councillor Gerry Crawford polled 1,365 first preferences. They are both safe.

Frank McBrearty, who has won elections in the past as an independent and a Labour candidate, is now with Fine Gael. He had 941 first preferences.

Gary Doherty (SF), who topped the poll last time out, has seen his vote drop to 1,490 (according to the tallies) from 1,967 but will be re-elected.

Sinn Féin’s Liam Doherty (717) looks as if he will get the final seat although Fine Gael’s Garvan Connolly (658) still has a chance if transfers are favourable.

Lifford-Stranorlar LEA - six seats

Tally figures.

Garvan Connolly (FG) 658

Gerry Crawford (FF) 1,365

Michael De Ward (Ind) 206

Gary Doherty (SF) 1,490

Liam Doherty (SF) 717

Martin Harley (FG) 1,610

John Hartnett (Aontú) 214

Frank McBrearty (FG) 941

Patrick McGowan (FF) 1,542

Alan McMenamin (Ind) 431

Maghnus Monaghan (Renua) 258

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Donegal Now editorial team. Between 9am and 5pm Monday to Sunday please call 074 9112712. Between 5pm and midnight please call or text 086 792 2103. Or you can email [email protected] at any time.