Finn Harps took on Longford Town in tonight's important SSE Airtricty League Division One clash inBallybofey.

At half-time it was:

Finn Harps 1, Longford Town 0

Fourth placed Finn Harps broke the deadlock just before the half-time whistle as Nathan Boyle headed them in front with a powerful header as he latched onto a cross from new signing Jacob Borg.

Fresh from two great away wins, Harps went into this game knowing that a win would really boost their promotion hopes while also damaging those of one of their big rivals.

Harps gave debuts to two new players.

Oluwatunmise (Timmie) Sobowale - a former Waterford player who had been playing in Spain (pictured below) - started in midfield for Harps.

Indeed, he went close to scoring on 27 minutes but his shot was saved by the legs of Mike Kelly.

Australian  Borg (below), who has been capped by Malta, also made his first appearance for the club,

In-form striker Mikey Place forced Mick Kelly into an early save as Harps began the game positively.

But chances were at a premium in the first quarter.

Harps were forced to make an early substitution with recent arrival Boyle (ex Derry City) coming on for the injured Jesse Devers after just 13 minutes.

Longford had a real opportunity to open the scoring on the half hour mark but Karl Chambers blazed over the target.

And on 35 minutes Harps had another scare when a Dylan McGlade free was deflected out for a corner.

But Harps took the lead in stoppage time of he first half as Boyle rose to head home as he met a Borg cross from the left to delight the majority in what was a disappointing attendance given the importance of the game, and the fact that it was a fine evening and there was no clash with any World Cup game.

Finn Harps: Ciaran Gallagher, Aidan Friel Ciaran Coll, Jacob Borg, Keith Cowan, Jesse Devers, Tommy McBride, Mark Timlin, Mikey Place, Sam Todd, Oluwatunmise (Timmie) Sobowale. Sub: Boyle for Devers (13 mins).

Longford Town: Mick Kelly, Shane Elworthy, Tristan Noack Hofmann,DeanSambra, Craig Walsh, Dean Dillon, Daniel O'Reilly, Aodh Dervin, Karl Chambers, Dylan, McGlade, Mick McDonald.

Referee: Damien Mac Graith.

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Donegal Now editorial team. Between 9am and 5pm Monday to Sunday please call 074 9112712. Between 5pm and midnight please call or text 086 792 2103. Or you can email [email protected] at any time.