Bonagee United have won their first Donegal League Sunday title in 48 seasons.

This afternoon they lifted the Temple Domestic Appliances Division One trophy.

They need only a point to be sure of the silverware in their penultimate league game, away to Gweedore Celtic.

In the end it finished 1-1, but that was good enough for the Letterkenny club and a little bit of history was made.

Bonagee dominated the first half but missed a bagful of chances with Lee McMonagle, Glenn Gallagher, Greg Magee and Andrew Connolly all having chances while Aidy McLaughlin had an effort cleared off the goal-line amid claims that the ball had crossed the line.

But battling Gweedore almost snatched the lead before the break when a finely struck Tomas Diver free hit the post.

The Letterkenny side finally broke the deadlock on 58 minutes when Damien O'Sullivan was penalised for a challenge on Jason Ashmore as he snaked his way into the Gweedore Celtic box. Glenn Gallagher stepped up to score the resulting penalty with a well hit shot into the bottom corner of the net.

Twice McLaughlin had chances to double the lead with headers and Darren Ferry was also nearly in.

But Gweedore, with Michael Roarty to the fore in midfield, kept plugging away and drew level on 79 minutes with Colin Ferry getting onto the end of a Michael Cutliffe ball from the left flank to score.

Suddenly, Bonagee had to endure an anxious final 11 minutes.

But the final whistle was greeted with screams of joy as the Damien McClafferty managed club finally got their hands on a Sunday League title.

Gweedore Celtic: Daniel McLaughlin; Fiachra Coyle, Michael McKelvey, Sean Paul Gallagher; Eugene Noel Ferry, Damien O'Sullivan, Michael Roarty, Ryan Ferry, Michael Cutliffe; Colin Ferry, Tomas Diver. Subs: Ryan Greene for R. Ferry (50 mins), Padraig Gallagher, Ciaran Ferry.

Bonagee United: John Carr; Glenn Gallagher, Glenn Rainey, Noel O'Donnell, Taylor Russell; Jason Ashmore, Greg Magee, Eamon Cannon, Andrew Connolly; Lee McMonagle, Aidan McLaughlin. Subs: Darren Ferry for Russell (51 mins), Shane Kelly for Magee, and Darren Hunter for Ashmore (both 76 mins), Paddy McGowan for McLaughlin (88 mins), Slawek Couchowski, Gerald Patton.

Referee: Joe McHugh.

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Donegal Now editorial team. Between 9am and 5pm Monday to Sunday please call 074 9112712. Between 5pm and midnight please call or text 086 792 2103. Or you can email [email protected] at any time.