Brighton and Hove Albion's Shane Duffy has won the FAI Men's Senior Player of the Year for the second year in succession, while Leanne Kiernan was named as the Senior Women's Player of the Year following a stellar year in 2018.

Duffy, from Derry (whose father Brian is from Letterkenny) has had another great season, and Brighton are into the semi-finals of the FA Cup where they will take on the mighty Manchester City.

There was a domestic theme to the Special Merit Award as all-time record goalscorer Brendan Bradley was recognised for his fantastic career that saw him score 235 League goals. The Derry striker played most of his football with Finn Harps and helped them to win the FAI Cup in 1974.

The awards ceremony was broadcast live on RTE television.

Emma Byrne became the first women's player to be inducted into the FAI Hall of Fame and former Republic of Ireland defender Richard Dunne was also honoured in the same category.

Aiden O'Brien won the 'Three' Goal of the Year for his debut header against Poland. The striker was voted ahead of both Troy Parrott (Men's Under-17s v Bosnia & Herzegovina) and Ronan Curtis (Men's Under-21s v Kosovo).

Dundalk midfielder Chris Shields fended off competition from club-mates Pat Hoban and Michael Duffy to collect the SSE Airtricity League Player of the Year.

29th 'Three' FAI International Awards

Senior Men's International
Shane Duffy

Senior Women’s International
Leanne Kiernan

Young International
Declan Rice

Goal Of The Year
Aiden O’Brien (Men’s Senior v Poland)

Men’s Under-21s
Ronan Curtis

Men’s Under-19s
Lee O’Connor

Women’s Under-19s
Niamh Farrelly

Men’s Under-18s
Brian Maher

Men’s Under-17s
Adam Idah

Women’s Under-17s
Emily Whelan

Men’s Under-16s
Troy Parrott

Women’s Under-16s
Jessica Ziu

Men’s Under-15s
Anselmo Garcia McNulty

Junior International
Eoin Hayes (Newmarket Celtic)

Intermediate Player
Darragh Reynor (Maynooth University Town)

Football For All
Nathalie O’Brien (Irish Women’s Deaf Futsal)

Colleges & Universities
Daire O’Connor

Ali Regbha (Chanel College, Coolock, Dublin)

SSE Airtricity League
Chris Shields (Dundalk)

Hall of Fame
Richard Dunne / Emma Byrne

International Personality
Kakha Kaladze

Special Merit
Brendan Bradley

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Donegal Now editorial team. Between 9am and 5pm Monday to Sunday please call 074 9112712. Between 5pm and midnight please call or text 086 792 2103. Or you can email [email protected] at any time.