Dazzling Donegal won the Allianz National Hurling League Division 3A title this afternoon as they overwhelmed Tyrone in a one-sided decider played at Celtic Park in Derry.

It finished Donegal  4-25, Tyrone 1-12.

This result means promotion for Donegal to Division 2A.

Donegal got off to a whirlwind start and when Davin Flynn got his first goal on eight minutes, it put the Ardal McDermott managed side 1-3 to no score ahead.

They led 3-10 to 0-4 at the break.

Indeed, Tyrone were simply no match for Donegal in the opening stages and Flynn got a second goal and two points while Niall Cleary, Bernard Lafferty and Henderson got further scores to leave them 2-8 to no score ahead after 18 minutes.

Damien Casey got Tyrone's first point in the 19th minute and although the Red Hand county enjoyed a better spell which yielded three more points Donegal were never in bother and capped their fine first half display with a third goal, this time from Stephen Gillespie, while Colm Melaugh, Lafferty and Henderson got points.

The result was never in doubt and Donegal continued to pile of the points in the second half.

Ronan McDermott made it 4-12 to 0-4 four minutes into the second half.

Tyrone had substitute Mike O'Gorman sent off after an incident with Flynn.

Flynn was the star of the show again with 2-8.

This was a great day for Donegal hurling; the only pity was that there wasn't a bigger crowd in attendance to savour the success.

Footnote: While the press corp in attendance registered the final score as being 4-25 to 1-11 (which was confirmed by a Donegal official, the result sent to Croke Park was 4-25 to 1-12 with Tyrone being credited with an extra score.

Donegal (starting 15): Paul Burns; Dara Grant, Jamesie Donnelly, Padhraic Doherty; Joe Boyle, Jack O'Loughlin, Ciaran Finn; Danny Cullen, Lee Henderson; Bernard Lafferty, Colm Melaugh, Rornan McDermott; Stephen Gillespie, Niall Clearly, Davin Flynn.

Tyrone (starting 15): John Devlin; Ruairí Devlin, Brendan Begley, Seán Mudoon; Lorcan Devlin, Stephen Donnelly, Tiarnan Morgan; Chris Cross, Dermot Begley; Conor Grogan, Pierse O'Kelly, Ryan McKernan;Matthew Mulgrew, Damien Casey, Peadar Daly.

Referee: Rory McGann (Clare).

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Donegal Now editorial team. Between 9am and 5pm Monday to Sunday please call 074 9112712. Between 5pm and midnight please call or text 086 792 2103. Or you can email [email protected] at any time.