Donegal Sports Star Awards on next Friday night

The countdown is now on for Friday night’s 38th Sports Star Awards in the Mount Errigal Hotel. There are over 100 nominees in 38 categories for the Donegal County Council sponsored function where the special guest will be the FAI CEO John Delaney.

Just five nominees know that they are winners ahead of the awards ceremony so for the rest it will be a nervous wait until MC Chris Ashmore makes the announcements on the night.

The Brendan McDaid Memorial Special Achievement honour is going to Letterkenny man Jason Black for his amazing conquestof climbing Mount Everest while Trentagh jockey Martin Harley will be presented with the Professional Sport Award for passing the 100 winners mark in December which included four firsts in one day at a race meeting in Wolverhampton.

A new category has been added this year for participants in transplant sports. And the first winner is Inishowen native Vienna White who took a silver and bronze medal at the World Transplant Games in Durham, South Africa. Errigal Sports & Social Club member Eileen Ferry will receive the ‘Special Athlete’ honour while the Hall of Fame is going Buncrana man Hughie ‘Dickie’ Doherty a legendary figure in Inishowen soccer after his professional soccer career in Scotland and England was cut short due to injury.

The schools awards will be presented by the Mayor of Donegal Cllr Ian McGarvey

Tickets for the Donegal Sports Star Awards on this Friday night, January 31st are available from the Mount Errigal Hotel. For further details ring the hotel on 9106700. See also on or on Facebook at at DonegalsportsStarawards

The nominations are listed below


Anne Marie McGlynn, Lifford A.C.

Brendan Boyce, Letterkenny A.C.

Mark English, Letterkenny A.C.

Mary McLoone, Tirchonaill A.C.


Brid McGinty, Lagan Harps

Hughie Rua Gallagher, Gweedore


Chloe Magee, Raphoe

Sam Magee, Raphoe


Cian Hickey, Letterkenny Blaze

Dillon Muldoon, Donegal Town

Basketball Club

Kelly Harron, Donegal Town

Basketball Club

Ryan Malley, Donegal Town

Basketball Club

Shaun Wogan, L.Y.I.T.

Tadhg Hickey, Letterkenny Blaze

Tara Khan, Donegal Town

Basketball Club


Allanagh McBhaird, Ballyshannon

Austeja Auciute, Finn Valley


Jason Quigley, Finn Valley A.B.C.

Maeve Mc Carron. Carrigart


Labhaoise Clarke, Carndonagh


Brendan McDaid Memorial Special


Jason Black, Letterkenny (Mount

Everest Ascent)

Clay Pigeon Shoot

David Porter, Lifford

Gordon Roulston, Kilmacrennan

Peter Monaghan, Buncrana


Ciara Doogan, Errigal Cycling


Conor Mc Ilwaine, Errigal Cycling


Philip Deignan, Letterkenny

P.J. Doogan, Errigal Cycling Club

Willie John McLaughlin, North

Pole Cycling Club


Anne-Marie Wilson, Buncrana

Charlie Grant, Quigley’s Point

John Flood, Milford


Kenneth Graham, Muff

Lisa Moore, Glenleary, Ramelton

Patricia Warren, Donegal

Gaeltacht Riding Club

Shannon Ramsey, Letterkenny


Emer Gallagher, Termon

Michael Murphy, Glenswilly

Neil Gallagher, Glenswilly

Neil McGee, Gaoth Dobhair

Paddy McBrearty, Kilcar


Brendan McCarroll, Ballyliffen Golf


Brian McElhinney, Foyle Golf


Jack Duffy, Buncrana Golf Club


Alannah Gallagher, Letterkenny

Community Gymnastics Club

Eilíse McLaughlin, Letterkenny

Megan Lynch, Desertegney

Hall of Fame

Hughie ‘Dickie’ Doherty, Buncrana


Gavin Lecky,Raphoe Hockey Club

Matthew Lecky, Raphoe Hockey


William Kilpatrick, Raphoe Hockey



Christopher McDermott, Burt

Danny Cullen, Setanta Hurling


Lee Henderson, Seán


Sean McVeigh, St Eunan’s

Martial Arts

Damien Duddy, PT’s Kickboxing

Gym, Carrigans

Elaine Dullaghan, Castlefin

Josie Murray, Letterkenny

Natalie McCarron, PT’s

Kickboxing Gym, Carrigans

Óisin Mac Lochlainn, Samurai

Uladh Judo Club

Sarah Jane Porter, Samurai Uladh

Judo Club

Tony Mac Lochlainn, Samurai

Uladh Judo Club

Motor Cycling

Aaron Mac Bride, Convoy

Richard Kerr, Kilmacrennan

Motor Sport

Declan & Brian Boyle,


Declan Gallagher, Ardara & Ryan

Moore, Letterkenny

Donagh Kelly, Frosses & Kevin

Flanaghan, Newtowncunningham

Rory Kennedy, Letterkenny

Transplant Athlete

Vienna White, Letterkenny

Professional Sport Achievement

Martin Harley, Trentagh


Anita Gallagher, Donegal Bay

Rowing Club

Kieran Keeney, Loughros Point

Rowing Club

Paul McGonagle, Kincasslagh

Rowing Club


Justin Allen, Letterkenny

Larissa Muldoon, Cappry,


Luke Dalton, Fahan

Nora Stapleton, Fahan


Amber Barrett, Lagan Harps

Barry McNamee, Derry City

Ciara Grant, Raheny United

Dale Gorman, Stevenage F.C.

Roma McLaughlin, Greencastle


Shane Canning, Moville Celtic

Special Athlete

Eileen Ferry, Errigal Sports and

Social Club

Primary School

Kilmacrennan National School

Scoil an Choimín, An Coimín, An


Scoil Cholmcille, Letterkenny

Scoil Mhuire Gan Smál,


St. Mura’s National School,

Tooban, Burnfoot

Primary School Sports Boy

Conor O’Donnell, St. Patrick's

Boys N.S., Carndonagh

Dylan Dorrian, Scoil Cholmcille,

Drumman, Ramelton

Shane McMonagle, St. Mura’s

N.S., Tooban, Burnfoot

Stephen Black, Kilmacrennan N.S.

Primary School Sports Girl

Eilíse McLaughlin, Lurgybrack


Gemma McFadden, Kilmacrennan


Jemma Ní Bhrollcháin, Scoil an


Karen Gallagher, Scoil Mhuire,

Cashel, Fanad

Lee Walsh, Scoil Mhuire Gan

Smál, Letterkenny

Ridhcheall Ní Dhochartaigh, Scoil

an Choimín

Sarah Jane Porter, St. Mura’s

N.S., Tooban, Burnfoot

Primary School Sports Teacher

Anita McMonagle, St Eunan’s N.S.


Lisa Doherty, Scoil Mhuire Gan

Smál, Letterkenny

Pauric McKinney, Scoil Íosagáin,


Secondary School

Coláiste Ailigh, Leitir Ceanainn

Loreto Convent, Letterkenny

Scoil Mhuire, Buncrana

Seconday School Sports Boy

Aaron Mac Fhloinn, Gairmscoil

Chú Uladh, An Clochán

Christopher O’Donnell, Magh Ene


Darragh Mulgrew, Coláiste Ailigh

Jamie Brennan, Magh Ene

College, Bundoran

Oisin Gallen, St Columbas

College, Stranorlar

Óisin Mac Lochlainn, Carndonagh

Community School

Secondary School Sports Girl

Allanagh McBhaird, Magh Ene

College, Bundoran

Amber Barrett, Loreto Community

School, Milford

Arlene Crossan, Loreto Secondary

School, Letterkenny

Christine Russell, Royal and Prior

Comprehensive School, Raphoe

Ciara Ní Fhíonnagáin, Coláiste


Jade Leeper, Gairmscoil Chú

Uladh, An Clochán

Shannon McGroddy, Loreto

Community School, Milford

Secondary School Sports Teacher

Aidan McAleer, Scoil Mhuire,


Catriona McLaughlin, Magh Ene


Seosamh Mac Ceallabhuí,

Coláiste Ailigh, Letterkenny

Surf Lifesaving

Ayesha Garvey Rossnowlagh

Garbhan Mc Closkey


Triona McMenamin Letterkenny


Anne Marie Ward, Portnablagh

Ellen Doherty, Swilly Seals

Emma Harvey, Swilly Seals

Emma Vaughan, Swilly Seals

Leon Vaughan, Swilly Seals


Clonmany B Tug of War Team

Cockhill Celtic FC Senior Team

Donegal GAA Senior Hurling


Donegal Ladies Lifesaving Team

Finesse Gymnastics Display Team

Glenree U12 Girls Soccer Team

Glenswilly GAA Senior Football


Inishowen Junior Soccer League


Lifford Athletic Club

Milford GAA Club

Raphoe Hockey Club Men’s 1st

Rosapenna Golf Club

Ulster Senior League

Interprovincial Soccer Team

Team Manager/Coach

Donal O'Brien, Cockhill Celtic F.C.

Mandy McNulty, North West

Shotokan Karate Club

Ray Durack, Donegal Hurling



Aidan Callaghan, Letterkenny 24-7

Triathlon Club

Fin Begley, Letterkenny 24-7

Triathlon Club

Gavin Crawford, Letterkenny 24-7

Triathlon Club

John Cannon, Letterkenny 24-7

Triathlon Club

Margaret Kelly, Letterkenny 24-7

Triathlon Club

Siobhan Gallagher, Gartan

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Donegal Now editorial team. Between 9am and 5pm Monday to Sunday please call 074 9112712. Between 5pm and midnight please call or text 086 792 2103. Or you can email [email protected] at any time.